garrisondesignarts

Decoding contemporary art and hand-crafting matters.

It’s 2012: Happy Creative Leap Year!

Where it all starts - with a blank canvas.

Where it all starts – with a blank canvas.

Happy New Year!

Greetings and salutations!

My name is Stephanie, founder and principal of garrisondesignarts, a creative design concern. I am a born artist and designer, although my university education resulted in a journalism degree. From this background has sprung a career steeped in visual and written communication. Every day I am struck by how creativity has captured my spirit and allowed me to get in touch with the essence of who I am as a person.

The start of any year is often marked by drafting a list of resolutions – or in my case, goals – for the upcoming 365 days. It’s a great way to focus on what you want to do – because often, when you accomplish what you want to do, it intrinsically links with who you want to be.

2012 is special because it is a leap year, so it gives a slacker like me an extra day to get things done. Woot! So here is my initial list of goals for 2012:

-introduce my creative self and creative brand to new businesses, clients, followers and friends

-organize my on-line presence so it doesn’t overwhelm the greater needs of my creative workload

-finish some of the book proposals I have in various stages of progress

-secure a book contract for at least one proposal

-explore the possibility of self-publishing on-line

-create an inspiring new office space and solve my tool/material storage needs

-firmly establish the product line that’s been in my head but not in the marketplace

-attend more conferences and perhaps a retreat

-file more stories than last year

-challenge myself to creating an APP, to push my mind’s cognitive abilities

-create a fibre-based pop art exhibit

-expand my personal and professional circles: find other like-minded individuals and businesses to connect with

-have fun, dream big, and move forward on several of my creative business endeavors

I’ll add things to the list throughout the year as the need arises.

What are your goals for this year? Do you have a clear sense of how to accomplish them or are there stumbling blocks that you’re facing? Let’s face them together. Courage!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

