garrisondesignarts

Decoding contemporary art and hand-crafting matters.

The Challenge: Fabric and Thread Only

Today I’m starting the challenge of designing a home dec accessory, using only fabric and thread to create interest.

Although I have several types of sewing machines that I work with, not everyone out there is as thoroughly entrenched in the art of sewing as I am. So I wanted to see if I could work something out that could be replicated by others, using a simple machine with a few decorative stitches – no fancy embroidery or serging needed. There’s a myriad of ways to create interest in a piece: through different layers, fabrics, thread colors, even stitch designs. It just takes planning.

To be continued… I’ll post my results when I’m done.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

