garrisondesignarts

Decoding contemporary art and hand-crafting matters.

Some Feathered Inspiration

Colour inspiration from nature itself.

Colour inspiration from nature itself.

Because I’m such a tone-on-tone afficionado (usually, I think this combination of colour values looks most luxurious), it’s hard for me to break out of my box of “standard preferences.”

That’s why shots of nature – be it animals, terrain or sky – can be so helpful to me. Many great artists and designers have always believed that if it can be found in nature, then it’s fair game to use for a project palette. Who am I to disagree with centuries of insight?

I took this picture at the San Diego Zoo on Christmas Day. Thought it was an inspiring image of colours I don’t normally work with, but could do so with some guidance from a peacock!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

